School Logo

Elmhurst School

An Academy of the Great Learners Trust

Phonics and Reading Progression

Little Wandle: Letters and Sounds Revised

We have clear teaching and learning progression in Reception and Year 1 which follows the Little Wandle overviews below:

Letters & Sounds Reading Books

We are currently in a period of transition and are working hard to align our reading books to the 'Little Wandle: Letters & Sounds Revised' phonics programme.


Over the summer holidays we audited all of our 'Letters & Sounds' phonics books. This then enabled us to sort our books in to those that were fully decodable (every sound and word can be read by the child) and those that were not. Only the fully decodable books remain part of the new 'Little Wandle' scheme.


We will be phasing out the old coloured banding names of Lilac, Pink A, Pink B, Red A, Red B, Yellow, Blue, Green, Orange & Turquoise. Instead, you will begin to see the following:

Magenta - Phase 2 (old Pink A, Pink B & Red A books)

Teal - Phase 3 (old Red B)

Green - Phase 4 (old Yellow & Blue)

Mustard - Phase 5 (old Green, Orange & Turquoise)


If your child is reading a Letters & Sounds book you will now see a number listed on the top left hand corner of the book - this indicates what phonics phase they are currently learning in school. More information on this will be provided soon as we update our 'Reading & Phonics: How to Help at Home' Parent website page.

Beyond Phonics

Once our children are reading their Phase 5 sounds fluently and with confidence they will move beyond the 'Little Wandle: Letters & Sounds Revised' programme of books. This is typically around Autumn 2 in Year 2. Our reading book scheme remains BIG Cat Collins and children will begin the next phase of their reading journey on Purple stage books. We have clear progression here too which is in line with BIG Cat Collins guidance:

Page last updated: 21/01/22